Verbivorehere's Weblog

Reflections on Reality!

Quirky Me

There is a silent participator..in ma blog. More silent than me..I used to call her “dove”. She reads..evaluates..appreciates and even constructively criticizes. One person who makes me feel that all i write is not crap! So recently she told me – you have cynicism topping all those dishes! Try a different flavour.. I was wondering what I’ll write! When Vimmuu tagged me with this quirky one! The 6 quirky things about me!!!I guess that helped in one way..but grrrr things that I never let out has to be out now?? This guy sure gonna get frm me! Nyways lemme start.

Chocolate – I have this strange feeling that ‘chocolate is my secret mentor’. Many a times if I’m depressed or feel lonely..or detested I would buy the biggest darkest chocolate possible..hideously eat it bit by bit..and think whatever my problem is – has been resolved! Trust me Im so addicted that in supermalls i steal glances at the chocolate section as a 3 yr old and my hubby often knocks my head to the opposite direction. The best is when we discuss about financial difficulties and get low and I walk out and get “temptation rum and raisins” devour it to the last piece and dispose the cover without ma hubby getting to know of it ;P

PS: I have had 4 ‘root canals’, 5th one is pending. & Ma hubby seriously thinks I’d run away with the guy who buys a big packet of chocolates for me ;P

Visitors – In my village it was a custom that when elders/visitors came we children/girls vanish into the inner rooms or kitchens and appear only when called for. So somehow when someone visits us..i get into the kitchen with the pretext of cooking for them and never come out unless it becomes highly necessary. This includes friends with whom I would have otherwise chatted/talked with! Guess many of them have felt that they should start the ‘aquaintance’ all over again!

Food – I somehow never..ever cook for myself. Whenever ma hubby has stayed far. I have relied on bread..biscuits and cold coffee. Even Maggi I hate to cook.not even parcels from hotel! Eby is positive that I’d starve myself to death If he’s not around. So i guess you know who to get hold of just incase I die mysteriously and reports show lack of proper intake of food!

Sleep – I need to sleep first!! or I just dont sleep! If by anychance my hubby dozed off before me..I’ll try all tricks possible to wake him up. But if he doesnt wake up from the deep slumber I dont sleep!..Guess it came from the childhood thoughts of “me first..me first!!!”

Vegetarianism – None in my family or in-laws are vegetarian.. I dont know from where I got it. But I got it real seriously..To the extent that even somethng lurking far from the boundary of meat I wouldnt have it! Mushroom since it gives you a ‘meatish feel to ur teeth’ is a no no! Soya beans – a complete no and.paneer well if you make it at home and crush it then fine..but the hard ones you get at hotels  – Nope! For some vegetarians its the smell..the idea..but for me i guess it is how it feels between my teeth!

New people! – I always flounder when i meet a new person..esp guys! The greatest problem is when someone starts with my name! I have one name official and the other personal. So netime a person asks my name! I’d blabber not knowing which one to tell. Im sure he’d flee in the next 5 mins! That scorpion friend for whom i wrote the poetry rewrote the rule by calling aloud my full name – (19 characters) and?? I fled from there ;P.  It takes a lifetime of analysis and stuff to get close to a person…and that doesnt seriously mean I’d talk! I can count the number of times I have ‘talked’ to friends that I consider the closest to my heart.

Some others..And yeah no matter how calm..poised and simple i look while visitors are at home..or when i meet new people..the moment its just me and eby i “jump like a 6 yrs old if the visitors brought chocolates along..and imitate the new person’s mannerisms which often gets wide applaude and appreciation (solely from Eby – coz no one else has till date been an audience! ;P)

So who do i tag? Praddy, Smitha, Scorpria, Kartz, Jo, Mary Kaufman.

November 10, 2008 - Posted by | I'm Tagged

26 Comments »

  1. Aah..so someone has survived the bomb i sent :p.

    #1.Lucky you..there are hubbys who would finance for a chocolate bar to some stranger to get rid of wives 😛

    #2.Should i beleive that?For me it looks like you get into the kitchen,the guest follows suit and lo!you showoff your newly designed modular kitchen with all the latest high end appliances.owner’s pride 🙂

    #3.Same pinch.The max i;d do is make a pizza order if it looks like i am gonna die.Probly you wanted someone appreciate your cooking,so no drive to cook when alone.

    #4.Good it stops with hubby..mine extends to neighbours.have knocked/rang bell in neighbour’s place at midnight..pretty saddistic 🙂

    #5.Reverse here. Except me all others are veggies by faith.Even the gang of friends I move around with is 100% veggies.

    #6.i do feel shy to meet new people[no chronic liar in act :P].This made me think of the 19char name..hmm.. abhithakujalambal?? 17 i guess :).

    Comment by nautankey | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. ROFL!! i loved that one!! ” abhithakujalambal” u sent me laughing 17 secs at least!!! And as for showing off modern kitchen appliances ;P the only appliance i have in the kitchen is a mixer (which is a gift by a “gang” of friends) ;p (guess that explains the variety of dishes you’d be treated to if at all u trot into ma house!)

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yeah but still 2 chars are missing :)..do publish that full name.Else I will design a tag to bring that out :P. nop i am not trotting into your house unless until I am able to fix a bug there so I can watch you imitating me 🙂

    Comment by nautankey | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. I must thank you for those kind words of appreciation you left at my page. Hope to live up to them…

    And the tag..! Well, I don’t usually do tags… 😦 The one’s I do are those where I speak my head off. 😀 (Considering the fact that I have done only 2 thus far!) But yeah, will definitely do this provided I come up with something..! 😉 U may have to wait…

    Chooorrryyy for the time being… 😦

    Peace.

    #1 I abstain from Chocolates… Ah! Ferrero Rocher and Twix are exceptions though. 😉

    #2 Heh heh heh… Well, depends. Not that I am a snob. But, I wouldnt wanna be around if the visitors are completely unknown to me! “You know? We are your mother’s aunt’s childrens blah blah blah… (or) I was your mother’s classmate… (or) We are from a place near your paternal village. Your grandfather was blah blah blah and that’s how your father and I came to know of one another…” 😀

    #3 I know cooking… 🙂 Just tht a real test is pending. 😉 But I know I ll pass… 😛 And before any thoughts slink in- the test can wait. 😛 So, there!

    #4 Sleep! Ah… I am a weird creature. I can go for days with little or no sleep, and compensate it with one loooong nap. The last time was not too long ago. A 19-odd hr sleep-a-thon… Of course… In hostel… 😉

    #5 Am all vegan too! As is mon famile… 🙂

    #6 Lads or the lasses… Not much of a prob with me. 🙂 It’s their problem. 😉 I am not the most interesting of all the Earthlings around, u know. 😛

    I have always believed in this fact- listen and silent are anagrams. The one who can listen even when you are silent is a true friend… No issues if you haven’t “talked” much. 🙂

    Ok… Lest I make more eyes bleed. Au revoir!

    Comment by Kartz | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. 🙂 And yeah; replied to your comment…

    Comment by Kartz | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. kartz ive deleted one line..u can guess which one! hope ud forgive me!

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. heyy, thanks for doing the tag! and I must admit, those are some real good quirks. The way to your heart is through a chocolate; and I will make sure I get you a chocolate for all the name damage that I had done. btw, that sleep quirk is very sadistic 😀

    @ Vinod : Buhahahaha!! I know all the 19 characters 😀

    Comment by vimal | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. vimal – u better stop that “buhahahaha” else il make u cry “lelu allu lelu allu!!” grrrrrrrrr..and as to which chocolate bar u need to pick up refer the section once again ;P

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  9. I respect your privacy ma’am. No issues, whatsoever.

    Peace.

    Comment by Kartz | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  10. Even i too die for Chocolates!! Bt not darky…Milky Milky Milky bar 🙂

    Love 2 sleep!! Classes, Exam halls, House!!!

    U hav gt fantabolous writing style!!!

    PS:Thnks fr droppin n my blog!! Keep Visiting!!!

    Comment by Karthik | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hey, writing for that tag game was fun! I have it under my Random Thoughts page.

    Comment by Johanna | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  12. Only thing, I really broke my diet with that. I happened to be really hungry and you had to mention chocolate!

    Comment by Johanna | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  13. All your quirks sound so adorable specially the sleeping one 🙂

    Comment by Smita | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  14. Someones getting a lot of comments these days !! I am so happy for you 😀

    Do you still want to grrrr me? (trying to sound innocent)

    Comment by vimal | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  15. No prob sis!! Atleast u’d commented fr one post!! it’s a research actua… lol!!!

    Comment by Karthik | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  16. @ Johanna thanx so much for doing the tag 🙂 and the chocolate pic in ur blog got me craving as well

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  17. @ Smita – That was an adorable comment there 🙂

    @ vimal – I shall Grr you till you Buhaha me (trying to sound the least innocent)

    @ Karthik – All the best. I know all researchers want their findings to come out true 😉 esp with this one I can guess ur interest! ;P

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 17, 2008 | Reply

  18. hey blog is good sweety, no other audience r u very sure 😛
    i have seen this lil 6 yr old with me as well, remember our sweet lil nest in tavarakare…..and yeah i agree with ur running inside the kitchen whenever someone comes,even if its ma bro who is ur cousin, God how u r surviving in this world…..God bless u if any new Scorpian visitor lands up at ur home…and u know tht he is a scorpian…i think u wil land up in ur neighbours kitchen then ;-):-P yeah starving u can i remember my first day in bangalore and u coming out with me at night 11:30 to buy something from the last malu bakery open in the tavarakare street, just b’coz i was hungry and not u :-)so next time i visit u i would have chocolates in my hand for my sweet sis…..

    Comment by Soumini | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  19. 🙂 that was equal to a dutch trufle – ur comment! And lol my neighbor’s kitchen i very near so better inform me 5 mins before u come wit family ;P
    nd thanx to the tag ;P ive made most of the readers want to gift chocolates to me. Wish eby read it with same emotion ;PP thnx a ton for dropping by and commenting dear.

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  20. In chcolates I think you will give a tough competition for any child 🙂
    On sleep, your hubby is in very poor situation.
    And one thing I like to mention when I read thru your posts is your english is too good 🙂

    Comment by kanagu | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  21. @kanagu – I used to be in the clouds..in college when i topped the marks in english. But trust me im insecure like hell..I’ve entered into a profession where language is meant to be my weapon and Ive not got any qualification to support me that..every time im supposed to write officially – i sincerely pray to saraswathi – “yal prasadadhruthe..nithyam jihwame parivarthathe”. Thnx for ur compliments im assured im not all crap :)and the compliment coming from a storywriter it surely means a lot :). as to chocolates i have planned to snatch them from my own kids when they are born ;P.

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  22. i think we share the all the habbits pertaining to people are concerned especially within the social circle 😉

    but vegetarianism i think is too much . though i also wanted to be one.. but my friends had other intentions 😛

    Comment by Whacky | November 23, 2008 | Reply

  23. Nice poem. Since you mention you are a verbivore and devour words, you may like my blog, I guess!
    This is my first time here and will come again to see your other posts shortly…

    Comment by Gopinath Mavinkurve | November 23, 2008 | Reply

  24. @whacky – i thought so as i read your posts too :)))

    @ Gopinath – here i rush to devour your posts 🙂 i am ..for sure a verbivore

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 23, 2008 | Reply

  25. wow.. a topper in English.. great.. very few will have a command over the language.. and you have it. I think if we have talent we don’t need that to be backed up by any certificates.
    I am just now started writing stories.. a way to go in that. thanks for calling as a story teller 😛
    Oh. your kids will be poor when it comes to chocolate 🙂 villain is nowhere 😀

    Comment by kanagu | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  26. @ kanagu..now..now stop flattering me..u wont get any chocolates..u knew it when u read my post ;P..and its embarassing ;P thnx for blogrolling me..i have also blogrolled u 🙂

    Comment by verbivorehere | November 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

