Verbivorehere's Weblog

Reflections on Reality!

Summer Rain..

Rain has always brought me something sweet along with them. Be it summer or monsoon they just make me look up with expectant wide eyes and a smile on my lips. The first time I fell in love with rain was in my village. I guess no one could resist her beauty there. Long green stretches of paddy fields swaying to her rhythm were a spectacle no poet could do justice to. Every year it brought something with it. A fresh academic year, new books, new bags, brown paper covers for the books, stickers with Mickey mouse pictures. It meant a whole new beginning for me.

In college, rains meant you could take your books and go to your rooms. This meant total freedom there in a convent hostel. We need not sit in a single desk, one behind another and pass notes to converse with each other. J That was how our study was..we used to sit around the building in a row, one behind the other and talking was highly impossible, especially for us who were right in front of our matrons room. Rain meant we could go inside our room and obviously that in turn meant we could gossip, eat, look out of the window and comment on all those who come that way.

I was somehow blessed to get hostels with a “nadumuttam” both during Pre-Degree & Degree. Now those who don’t understand the word “nadumuttam” – it is an opening right in the middle of a house or building. Rather the building would be constructed in such a way that there will be a small open ‘playground’ right in the middle. So degree also rains meant, closing all books, trying to reach the rain falling in the ‘nadumuttam’ from your balcony, gasp at the water being splashed to the balcony, tip toe and play with the water puddles that forms there and grumbling at the matron who arranges for the cleaning up of the space pretty quickly!

Post graduation unfortunately did not give any such facilities. There was one vast terrace and the only way we could enjoy the rains were after the rain, we could stroll on the cool terrace.  My journey to Pune & then to Mumbai made me realize how people just celebrate rain there. Even when the water was up till a little below my knees I enjoy the waded walk to my office and the appreciation that none except me had come in the team :P. It always brought a smile no matter where and what, a friend would remember me after a long time and call for a cup of coffee, it would be declared leave for both our offices and we could cuddle at home, hot vadapav, hot soups, hot coffee..it was a treat for the tummy too.

tasting-rain1

This summer rain in Bangalore was no different. Thanks to the ‘transit’ foodcourt in Forum the view of the windy rain outside was as pleasant as it could get. If I had no paddy fields, the very sight of vehicles drenched in a new shower was a sight in itself. And it did not forget to bring the smile with it..and this time it stayed with me till the truth sunk in and I was smiling real wide. Yes it brought the news of a new life for me. It brought the smiles of a new life that is budding within me. There isn’t any other way I could imagine I would’ve celebrated this news than that evening with the dancing rain and a cup of coffee and both of us…wondering about the intruder who’ll arrive in no time!

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

25 Comments »

  1. Wow! You’ve reminded me of all that I used to love about the rains! We used to wait for it so much.. Even going to school felt like an adventure 🙂 Just any excuse to get wet and enjoy yummy snacks!!! Ever since we’ve come to the UK ,the joy of rains has totally disappeared 😦 With rains every second day… Thanks for reminding me:)
    And you had ‘nadumuttams’ in your hostels- wow!!!

    Comment by Smitha | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. What happened chechi..nowadays hi funda posts,I mean no mention of any silly acts :P.

    Rain is always specials especially for chennai-ite who seldom sees it in summer. In monsoon the rains are so high adn everything comes to the stand still,loved it during my student days but last time it was bad,my bike was caught in flood had to walk 7kms…ofcoz it also brings back some memorable romantic memories :D.. speak abt the good,bad n ugly things of rain 🙂

    Comment by nautankey | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Sigh!!! U have reminded me of so much. Even we had “nadumuttam” in my first hostel and when it used to rain real heavy then we used to bring our music system out in the corridor and play it on full volume and fir jo hum rain dance karte the!!! 😀

    And I always associate rains with the lovely smell of earth & Pakoda’s

    Comment by Smita | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Rain for me is as soothing as music. but its another fact that rain has always given me problems 😀

    and btw this post has given me an idea for one more musical post !
    Hmmm….Thanks !

    Comment by vimmuuu | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. Me want rain. Now! And u better blow the rain clouds to where me is. Pleech! 😦 😦

    I love the smell of rain-drenched Earth! Feel *so* connected with Nature! 🙂

    Peace. Be well.


    That’s a neat display pic, Verby ma’am! 😀 Where’dya get it done?

    Comment by Kartz | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. LOL @ all….hope none of you read the last para properly..chuckle :)) kartz if not neone else..i expected u to get the hint 😛

    Comment by verbivorehere | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  7. congrats 🙂 🙂 entering into a new world…a world of motherhood…best wishes…let there be rains of happiness :)takecare

    Comment by sangeeta | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  8. Congratulations. A new chapter’s started. All the best.

    Comment by piotr | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  9. Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just noticed, I mean, I read it. But now I get it !!! (Im a lill like Joey from FRIENDS)

    Congrrratsssss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is too good a news !!!!

    Comment by vimmuuu | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  10. ah i read, re-read the last paragraph..congrats :):)
    Happy for you 🙂

    Comment by praddy | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  11. At one time, rainy season was my favorite. At one time when I did not have to worry about reaching the office dry.

    Comment by Ava | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  12. […] : Verbivore Here What : Summer Rain Spicy : The Summer rains in Bangalore brings with much relief to many Bangaloreans. Verbivore Here […]

    Pingback by BlogAdda's Spicy Saturday Picks - May. 9, '09 | BlogAdda Blog | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  13. Hi

    Congratulations! Your post has been selected by BlogAdda as one of the top posts for this week’s ‘Spicy Saturday Picks’.

    Do mail me, if there are any queries.

    Comment by Harish Krishnan | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  14. Congrats verbi 🙂 rain is always a joy and once again it has brought a great news for you 🙂 I love rain but chennai is too sunny now 😦

    Comment by kanagu | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  15. Congrats!! 🙂
    oooh..dats pretty true thng abt rains!!as I too love rain and I love dancing in rain too.. 😀

    Comment by Madhuri | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  16. Congrats!! 🙂

    dats pretty true thng abt rains..as I too love rain and I love dancing in rain.. 😀 waiting for the rain 🙂

    Comment by Madhuri | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  17. Rains! Ahh how sweetly have you reminded me of rains.. in college.. the only time I lived in hostels were in rains.. the first time we experienced rain.. we actually were not allowed in terrace so we climbed the wall near the terrace so that we can see the rainbow criss crossing each other..

    Comment by Winnie the Poohi | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  18. Arre wah!! Superb Congratualtions Verby 😀

    Comment by Shayari | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  19. holly molly…read the last para only now…a BIG CONGRATS!! no doubts this place wont be having much of silly acts here on 😀

    Comment by nautankey | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  20. @smitha – welcome :). Yes..rains are better enjoyed when we wait for it I guess :Pnot every day

    @nautankey – b4 u knew the new it was chechi ;P aftr the news i became molly??? :PP ur in reverse mode? appa 😉

    @smita – Wow rain dance.,.wish we had done that then!!!

    @Vimmuuu – 😛 thanks im surprised at ur excitement 😉

    @Kartz – PHoooooo ..by the size i am..i guess not just rain clouds the entire sky would have moved..and yeah i blew towards ur direction for sure!

    @Sangeeta – Thanks dear..wish u can sort out the prob wit ur blog soon by sme techies

    @ Piotr – Thanks a lot. 🙂

    @Praddy – had to ‘re-read’to understand? LOL 😉 gt sloshed on a weekday too? 😉

    @Ava – yeh true..work sure makes us tad more practical i guess.

    Comment by verbivorehere | May 13, 2009 | Reply

  21. @Harikrishnan – Thanks a lot!! Im reallly happy to hear ths!

    @Kanagu – Thanks 🙂 yeah it mostly does!

    @Madhuri – Yeehhh!!! dancing/lpaying or pretending to hurry home in rain..nething,,im in for it.

    @Winnie – Welcome..ur haikus are no less sweet in reminding 🙂

    @Shayari – Thank Thanku 😛

    Comment by verbivorehere | May 13, 2009 | Reply

  22. hoooo… rain!!!! i just love the very word.. awesome post.. i have written smethin similiar.. try readin and comment on that! http://dreamingbulls.blogspot.com/2009/03/always-raining-in-my-heart.html

    Comment by sajeesh | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  23. Dreading the rains in Mumbai..what with reports predicting record-breaking high tides this season. And we stay really close to the beach!!

    Comment by Thought Bubbles | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  24. 🙂 There is nothing like the smell of the first rain that falls on earth… take care my butterfly… stay blessed 🙂 Big Huggggg…loadss of chocolates on your way…but not for you this time 🙂

    Comment by Sangeetha | June 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

